Team Durango DEX408 Takes Podium At Nitro Race

Share Button

Team Durango DEX408 Takes Podium At Nitro Race

What better way to start 2013 for members of the Team Durango 1:8th Rally Cross team than two podium positions at round four of the Nitro MAM Series at Coventry. This first outing of 2013 for Team Durango representatives Paul Robinson, Stuart Harlow, Malcolm Smith and Ben Cosgrove was set to be double the fun of your average nitro 8th scale meeting as the team would be running the DEX408 buggy against the rest of the field driving nitro vehicles. Nitro versus Team Durango DEX408 Lipo powered cars. The stage was set for a really exciting day.

The team were greeted by greasy track conditions at Coventry’s well-appointed off-road race complex, and they were all aware that despite the added advantage of the super reliable Lipo battery power source, the meeting was going to be a challenge for them all. The race organisers insisted that all drivers who were running electric cars would need to pass through the pit lane to take into account that they would not require the normal fueling stops experienced during 8th scale off-road meetings.

Team Durango decided to opt for dBoots Multibyte tyres, or either angle spike or orbital patterns to give them the most settled and predictable handling on their DEX408 vehicles. With Ben Cosgrove only just completing the build of his DEX408 and Paul Robinson returning to electric powered 8th scale after a long sabbatical, Team Durango were really happy to take first, third and fourth in the A main final with a fourth in the C final added for good measure.

Team Driver Paul Robinson commented “The DEX408 was very quick throughout the meeting and we experienced very efficient battery consumption, with all attending drivers improving their lap times as the day unfolded. I decided to try mounting my rear shocks behind the rear shock tower as I wanted to try and achieve a more planted feel whilst not losing the DEX408’s great steering capabilities. This worked really well and has now become a standard spec for my running set-up on my Team Durango DEX408”

Race Results


1st = Paul Robinson (Team Durango DEX408)

3th = Ben Cosgrove (Team Durango DEX408)

4th = Stuart Harlow (Team Durango DEX408)


4th = Malcolm Smith (Team Durango DEX408)

Team driver and third place on the day Ben Cosgrove commented “The finals were really interesting as it started to get dark during the race. It was more like a night race by the time we finished and we were very happy with how well the DEX408 performed against some stiff local competition”

Congratulations to the members of Team Durango’s 8th scale team who once again proved the versatile and race-winning construction of the DEX408 buggy.

Link: Team Durango

Speak Your Mind